I want my main charachter to turn…but he won’t

My story based on the couple of paragraphs with the boy named Peter is turning on me.  Ugh!  This is a first for me.  I wanted the story soooo badly to go in the direction of him becoming just as evil as the person who had been evil to him but no matter how hard I outlined that storyline he just wouldn’t fit into that mold.  I really like the idea of stories/novels that don’t follow that whole, everything ends all happy and wrapped up neatly with a bow at the end.  I really wanted this story to be the first one that I could take a character and bring them down that journey.  It just would not work.  This was so hard to let go of and I spent most of today fighting with the outline desperately trying to make it work.  When I finally gave it up, I got the outline that was really meant for him. 

This saddens me.  I’ve always had my ideas begin and mostly go where I wanted them to as I worked them into timelines and filled in the details.  I guess I will have to let that come in its time but its something I really really want to do in my writing.  I’m still finding my feet and getting myself centered.  I’m sure I’ll go through this a few times until it all comes together.

Leave a comment