School Meetings Suck

Any of you with special needs kids probably know what an ARD meeting is and those who don’t well, its a really long drawn out meeting to review your child’s progress in school.  We also come up with goals and ways to help in the classroom.  You would think these are great ideas for helping your student with special needs unless you have a child like mine.  He is Bi-polar as well as being diagnosed with Asperger’s.  School is a pain in the ass on so many levels for him and us as well.  It doesn’t help that the schools today are so wrapped up in the social conventions that they are supposed to be enforcing that you get issues with them being more concerned about a lip piercing than the fact that your child is on the verge of failing and possibly wanting to drop out while he is only 15.  I just keep reminding myself that he is almost grown and will be out there on his own.  I know he is more than capable and extremely smart but your average, everyday public school is not the place for him to be and probably not too many other kids with the same diagnosis.

I will be writing tonight and hope to have prompt #3 complete and up for your reading pleasure.  Please don’t forget to provide any feedback.  I welcome all critiques.  Till then, I guess I better actually do work although I really want to go run outside and frolic in the gorgeous weather we are having right now.

3 comments

  1. wvtallchic

    I know your frustration. The meetings for us usually centered around what the teachers needed instead of my child, and they would commit to nothing. They took all suggestions under advisement only and followed through with nothing. She’s a junior in high school now, and it’s all I can do to keep her from quitting. A lot of parents wouldn’t even bother advocating for their children, so kudos to you – and good luck.

    • jamiewriteswhat

      Thank you!! It is a struggle. This is the third school district we have been in and the first one we moved to specifically because of what they said they could do for him. Now we are looking at a very recommended charter school. They seem to have a great environment for kids like him AND our first impression when meeting a staff member was really really positive. I’m crossing my fingers things work out. Good luck as well for you. Being a parent of a special needs child is a very tough but rewarding job.

Leave a comment